Beth’s ‘Wylde’ Blog
Born 2 B. Wylde – Author Beth Wylde’s Blog

The Next Big Thing Blog Hop…Beth’s day

I was tagged last week by the amazing Susan X Meagher to take part in The Next Big Thing Blog Hop today.

For next Wednesday I’ve tagged Isabella at http://www.sapphirebooks.com/blog
and also Harper Bliss at http://www.harperbliss.com

This hop is designed to help readers find out about authors they might never have heard of or discovered on their own. Since I write predominantly lesbian stories I tagged 2 other authors in my same genre. Most of my stories are short because with three kids I don;t get a lot of writing time. That means I have to make what I do get count, plus my attention span is terribly limited too. I call it my author ADD.

For more about my stories you can find me online at http://www.bethwylde.com or http://groups.yahoo.com/group/bethwylde and also the website of my lesbian author’s group at http://www.sapphicplanet.com
Now on to my answers for the hop.

What is the working title of your book?
I’m actually doing a contest to name the book. I did this for my first anthology of short stories and the end title I picked was great, Women Gone Wylde, a play on my pen name. So I’m going to do the contest again. This will be a follow up to Women Gone Wylde, another entire anthology of just short stories written by me. All the stories will be lesbian erotica but I have plans for this book to be published in both ebook and print. Women Gone Wylde is just in print because I didn;t own the ebook rights to all of the stories in the antho. This time I own all the rights to the short stories I plan to use in the book.
For anyone wanting to take a shot at trying to name my next personal antho just email me your title suggestion to b.wylde@yahoo.com before January 31st. I plan to announce the winner on my website and my yahoo group on Feb. 1st.

Where did the idea come from for the book?
It’s a follow up to Women Gone Wylde, my first personal antho of short lesbian erotica stories. I wanted a print copy of some of my stuff to take to shows and signings so i took all of the lesbian short stories i still owned print rights to and put the book together myself. I plan to do this one the same way since I was busy all summer writing a lot of new lesbian shorts only this time since I own all the rights i plan to sub it to a publisher. I’d like to see what the difference in sales and publicity would be between going through a publisher and self publishing.

What genre does your book fall under?
Lesbian erotica and erotic romance.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
I’m not a big fan of using well known actors when books get turned into movies. I like seeing them discover new people to fit the roles when they are brought to life. Sometimes i can’t see past the famous actor to let them take on the character’s persona they way I can do when the role is handled by someone new.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?
A collection of some of Beth’s hottest lesbian erotic short stories, meant as a follow up to Women Gone Wylde.

What is the longer synopsis of your book?
About the same as the one sentence one. Otherwise I’d have to paste a lot of blurbs here to cover each story in the book.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
I plan to submit it to a publisher and hopefully have it out this coming year for 2013.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?
As a pantser I don;t do the first draft, second draft kind of thing. I edit as I go along and then move on to the next story. I also tend to jump around so when one story comes to a stopping point or I get blocked I jump to something else. It took me about 9 months or so to gather up enough short stories to fill the anthology.

Who or What inspired you to write this book?
I’m inspired by a lot of other GLBT authors. My fiction is often inspired by real life events too. Lots of the stories in this antho were inspired by something i witnessed or experienced personally.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?
Some of the stories in this antho will be brand new and some can be found now in other collections such as The Harder She Comes (Butch/Femme erotica) out now from Cleis Press and also in Girls Who Score (lesbian sports erotica) also out from Cleis Press and in the anthology Sapphic Planet from my lesbian author’s group (available on Amazon and other distributors too).
You can find links to all of these and more on my website at http://www.bethwylde.com

A huge thanks to Susan Meagher for tagging me!
Beth
b.wylde@yahoo.com

No Responses to “The Next Big Thing Blog Hop…Beth’s day”

Leave a Reply

